“Mr. Murrell, everyone delivers food to the Pentagon.”

From Inc’s How I Did It: Jerry Murrell, Five Guys Burgers and Fries:

When we first opened, the Pentagon called and said, “We want 15 hamburgers; what time can you deliver?” I said, “What time can you pick them up? We don’t deliver.” There was an admiral running the place. So he called me up personally and said, “Mr. Murrell, everyone delivers food to the Pentagon.” Matt and I got a 22-foot-long banner that said ABSOLUTELY NO DELIVERY and hung it in front of our store. And then our business from the Pentagon picked up.

Great article about sticking to your core business and not sacrificing your values to make a buck. I have been to at least 10 different Five Guys locations in three states, and have never had a bad experience.

