Skype

I know everybody reading this blog has heard of and probably used Skype. However I have to give it a shout-out because it is just so darn useful. Telecommuting full-time, I have found Skype to be an invaluable tool. My teammates and I are able to talk for free and even share a screen. The audio calls can be conferenced with multiple people for free, but unfortunately the screen sharing is only between two people (currently).

The call quality is excellent. It definitely beats cell phones. I haven’t used a landline in a few years but I think it easily matches the quality. Occasionally we have to use GoToMeeting for various reasons, but we still use Skype for the conference call because it sounds so much clearer.

The screen sharing is really helpful. Rather than trying to help someone work through a problem just by talking (or emailing), we are able to see each others’ screens and quickly get to the root of the issue.

Skype should be an app that every remote work team has on hand.

